Vegan Non-Alcoholic Wine – 9 Options Revealed

Everyone understands that wine is made from fermenting crushed grapes.

But is it non-alcoholic wine and vegan?

It’s a bit like saying that just because it is alcohol-free, it is a diet drink?

But you do know it is made from grapes?

I was kidding about the grapes!

I feel your pain. It’s like no one gets to be just a bit different!

But here is the thing.

It is one of the reasons that non-alcoholic wine got such bad press in the early days.

Luckily everyone has moved on.

People think it’s vegan because it’s just grape juice.

The thing is, alcohol-free wine or non-alcoholic wine is still really made the same.

It’s just that the alcohol is taken out as part of the production.

It’s one of the reasons why when people cut back on alcohol, they think alcohol-free wines, gin and beers are a good fallback.

And they are because they give us a choice.

People thought it was an excellent cheap choice, but it was probably more expensive to make in reality.

The money we save is on taxis, eating on the way home, and drinking more and more.

You don’t do that with alcohol-free options.

The good news is that some non -alcoholic wines are vegan.

Some Non-Alcoholic Wines Are Vegan

Just not all alcohol-free wines are vegan.

The key, of course, is in the production of red and white wines.

For example, according to the Vegetarian Society, some red wines utilise animal-sourced components during the later production phases.

Now I am not a vegan, but even I have enough friends who realise that is a bit of a NO NO.

Nevertheless, there are a variety of vegan alcohol-free or non-alcoholic wines available.

If you are wondering what to check for, then there are two criteria.

Is it alcohol-free?

And courtesy of the drink aware website in the UK, we have some excellent guidelines on alcohol.

If anything, wine is a bit more complicated than beer.

  • Alcohol-free: no more than 0.05�V
  • De-alcoholised: no more than 0.5% ABV
  • Low alcohol: no more than 1.2% ABV

So ‘alcohol-free’ beers sometimes can have minimal amounts of alcohol. The same goes for wine.

Orange juice and bananas can have alcohol in them and even bread rolls.

So a trace says 0.05% ABV and is very minimal, but this could mean other things in different countries.

Many natural food products have a slight trace of alcohol.

As you would expect from the blog, I will only touch alcohol-free wines and beer, but they may have a trace of alcohol like Food.

But vegan, how would you know?

Well, this is excellent news; I have noticed that due to the strict labelling of alcohol-free drinks in the UK, most wineries are making a thing about it, and the labelling is very prominent.

It might be on the bottle or the website, but it is there if you look.

They have realised that an alcohol-free market could be a vegan market as well.

Smart move, I would say.

Vegan Wine and Alcohol-Free

I know people who are very health conscious will want these things taken into consideration.

But you know that, right?

All Alcohol-Free Wines Are Vegan, no and here is why?

Thanks to the vegetarian society and vegan society, I found some excellent resources which explain it quite well.

I also know a veggie is not the same as a vegan!

Don’t start.

Although it is a bit confusing, stay with me; after all, it’s worth it.

I mean wine that you can drink with no alcohol.

I care because you care, and it’s often asked on the blog in your comments and emails.

The Vegan Premise

And I am with you on this.

If wine is made from fermenting grapes, it would appear very rational to think that would be vegan.

I mean, after all, grapes are hardly derived from animal-based items.

Unless there is some doggy farm, I don’t know about.

But even without it, alcohol-free credentials wine has become popular, and so, therefore, how it is made has become even more sophisticated.

Before you even get to take the alcohol out, it’s a pretty challenging and complicated process.

It is why non-alcoholic wine is not much cheaper and, in some cases, more expensive.

Just ask for my wallet.

With any wine, extra ingredients are added along the way.

The wine is split into its component refining agents as a wine, which unfortunately comes from animals and plays a role.

Your wine with this process may taste ok, but there is an image issue.

It doesn’t look good!

The wine has to look good and be filtered; otherwise, no one would buy it.

Some of the processes used to come from explanations of the following, and of course, there are more than this which are explained well by the Vegan Society.

  • Casein (milk protein).
  • Chitin (fibre from crustacean shells).
  • Egg albumen (originated from egg whites).
  • Fish oil.
  • Gelatin.

You get the idea, so really, it’s all about making the wine look good, and with most wins, some of these are used in the filtering process.

The bottom line is winemakers want it to look good in the glass, and to be fair; most wine drinkers would do as well.

There is even disagreement about whether vegan-friendly eliminates the wine’s feel, but most agree about the look.

Of course, some of these ingredients or filtering agents can find themselves in the wine, albeit in small amounts.

Plus, some people object to the process altogether.

All of these facts make some of the wines totally out of bounds.

I accept it is more of an issue for some than others.

How do they make Vegan, Alcohol-Free Wine?

There are two ways you can sort it.

You can either find a way to make sure none of the animal-based filtering products goes into the wine.

This needs careful management.

Many winemakers go for another one to use a process well known in food production, which is filtering methods with non-animal derivatives.

This seems the best and most clear cut way to go. Some examples could include

  • Carbon.
  • Bentonite clay.
  • Limestone.
  • Silica gel.

Just as beer and wine producers find ways to take alcohol out or brew it without any alcohol at all.

There are now increasing production processes that mean vegan-based wine is an opportunity.

Now I have tasted all the ones on our list, and I have teamed up with one of the best partners for products at 00 abv.

Click below on the picture to go to their website.

Again, the listing is excellent and transparent.

I get a small commission but you pay the same.

Vegan Alcohol-Free Wine

Vegan Alcohol-Free Wines – Best 9 Options

Now the good news: I drank all of these without even knowing about the vegan aspect. So my best bet is the Spanish Torres, and I love it regardless of its vegan status.

Torres Natureo Muscat.

Torres knows how to drink wine and make alcoholic wine, so it’s great to see them come full circle and be investing so much in non-alcoholic wine.

Natureo, of course, implies nature, and it could not be further from the truth.

This is a great wine, even on its own.

Think pale yellow and white wine rolled in one.

When you pour the wine, it has scents of tangerines, orange bloom and muscat grapes.

Of course, this is very reflective of where it is made.

This is an excellent example of where the grapes do make a difference.

Geography does matter when it comes down to wine.

 

Torres Natureo Rosé.

Please don’t be a snob about rose wine.

Natureo Torres Rosé has some genuinely extraordinary flavours.

 

Non- Alcoholic Wine From Spain

The scent brings with its cherry and a flower tip which brings through into the flavour of this light and soft rosé red wine.

Now Rose wine is not for everyone, but I even see very butch people drink it now, so the stigma has gone.

Yes, even you!

Torres Natureo Syrah.

The one thing I do miss is having a glass of red wine with my Sunday lunch, and this vegan-friendly red wine does the trick right and proper.

Natureo Torres Syrah is an excellent red wine, and I wish it were offered to restaurants.

I have never seen it offered.

Think ruby red colour, fruity with cherry and red plum available. It’s also wonderfully smooth.

I have drunk this without Food.

Belle & Co White Or Rose

Now I shout about this on the alcohol-free podcast and my blog regarding alcohol-free drinks at weddings.

I kid you not; we like bubbles too, you know!

The sparkling white wine is made from grape juice with premium tea infusions.

And I have to say the tea kicks it.

Belle and Co Non-Alcoholic Vegan Wine

Belle & Co Sparkling White is both crisp and rejuvenating.

They also make a great Sparkling Rose which I have to say I have been drinking more than most of late.

If you are hosting a party or a wedding and want to please both vegan and alcohol-free guests, I recommend it for value and taste.

Ebony Vale Cabernet Sauvignon.

Here is another vegan-friendly red wine to go with that Italian Food.

I like this because like a drinkable red wine, it’s very fruity.

It’s the classic plum and red berry that creates a smell when you open the bottle.

My only criticism of this wine is that it’s probably a bit sweeter than my favourite Torres choice, but it is still a great option, but I would recommend it with Food only.

Ebony Vale Cabernet Sauvignon also makes a Chardonnay.

This wine is a classic white wine chardonnay, and the vegan-friendly cents of pears and apples come through.

Again a good white, alcohol-free and vegan white wine.

Thomson & Scott Noughty Sparkling Chardonnay and Sparkling Rose

These guys made my Christmas, and yes, you pay a bit more, but they do know their stuff, and the fact it is vegan is a bonus.

Thomson & Scott Noughty Sparkling Chardonnay and Sparkling Rose

I only discovered the fact it is vegan after writing another review for it.

The first one I tried was the chardonnay, but they have also just brought out a rose version.

Good news.

Their expertise is making low sugar prosecco style fizz to produce the exceptional no added sugar Noughty brand sparkling wine.

So they make it as you would any other wine, then carefully use the vacuum distilling process to get rid of the alcohol.

However, this has now become a fine art in terms of a process, so you will find that it keeps a crisp apple aroma, and it’s not that sweet either.

It surprised me how dry it felt and tasted.

It looks great in a champagne glass.

Going Alcohol-Free Wine & Vegan

It can be done!

Well, they should not have to be separate, right?

I also love that the non-alcoholic wine market is latching onto the vegan market as something worthwhile to do.

I mean, we have to be reasonable and say they are doing it for profit. Of course, they are, but there would be no alcohol-free industry or vegan industry without this.

I feel this is just the start, and that is good news for you, right?

Just do your research and try some of these choices of vegan non-alcoholic wine and let me know what you think.

I would love to get your view if alcohol-free and vegan work together.

And as these non-alcoholic vegan wines show, it can be done!

Leave a Comment